On the Road in Penobscot County

From protecting access to health care to supporting our service members and veterans, I’ll always fight for Maine in the U.S. Senate.

Sara Gideon
3 min readOct 22, 2020

Earlier this month, I kicked off my “Health Care is on the Ballot” tour in Penobscot County. Everywhere I go across the state, the number one issue people want to talk about is access to quality, affordable health care. There is so much at stake this election, and health care is truly on the ballot.

I hosted a health care town hall in Hermon, where I heard from Mainers about the challenges they’ve faced when it comes to getting the health care they deserve. From lowering the cost of prescription drugs and supporting rural hospitals, to protecting Mainers with pre-existing conditions and defending the ACA and Medicare, health care will always be a top priority for me in the Senate.

I joined Lifeflight of Maine to hear more about the critical work they do to provide emergency medical services to Mainers living in rural communities. Access to quality health care is a big issue for rural areas, which is why I will always work to support our rural hospitals and ensure that Mainers don’t have to drive hundreds of miles to access the care they need.

Later in the afternoon, I met with the Maine Troop Greeters and toured their museum in Bangor. Whether our troops are coming home or heading overseas, the Maine Troop Greeters are always there to support them. As Speaker, I’ve worked to improve veterans’ health care services and job opportunities, and I will continue supporting them and our service members as senator.

From York to Presque Isle, I’ve traveled across the state to hear from Mainers directly about the issues that matter most to them and share how I will work to address them in the Senate. I’ll be a senator who always puts Mainers — not special interests — first.

To join our campaign, visit SaraGideon.com. If you want to keep up with us on the road, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

--

--

Sara Gideon

Mom. Mainer. Speaker of the Maine House. Running for U.S. Senate to put Mainers first and defeat Susan Collins. Join our campaign: saragideon.com